Every student, every day.

Back to all posts
Posted on

Michael McTighe Nominated for 2024 Edwin Parr Teacher Award

F.P. Walshe School teacher Michael McTighe is Livingstone Range School Division's nominee for the 2024 Alberta School Boards Association's Edwin Parr Teacher Award. 

The award honours outstanding first-year teachers in Alberta, and according to F.P. Walshe Principal Chad Jensen, Michael's nomination is well-deserved.

"Michael has been an outstanding addition to our team at F.P. Walshe School and is well on his way to a successful teaching career," says Chad. "He makes every effort he can — through coaching, volunteering and showing a genuine interest in what his students are up to — towards building connections in their everyday lives. He has a passion for helping others reach their goals."

Michael graduated from the University of Lethbridge with a Bachelor of Science in Kinesiology and a Bachelor of Education in Physical Education with a Social Studies minor. He currently teaches Grade 7 Language Arts, Social Studies, and Physical Education.

"I chose a career in education to have a positive impact on my students' lives," says Michael. "I am humbled and honoured to be recognized for the impact I have had so far as the nominee for Livingstone Range School Division for the Edwin Parr Award."

School boards across the province nominate one exceptional candidate for the Edwin Parr Teacher Award to their Alberta School Boards Association (ASBA) zone committee each year. The successful nominees from each Zone are honoured at the ASBA Fall General Meeting.

As the 2024 LRSD nominee, we congratulate Michael and wish him the best of luck at this year's awards.   

Prev Post Next Post